

### **BOARD IN BRIEF**

4730 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC, Canada V5H 0C6 | 604-432-6200 | metrovancouver.org

#### For Metro Vancouver meetings on Friday, December 7, 2018

Please note these are not the official minutes. Board in Brief is an informal summary. Material relating to any of the following items is available on request from Metro Vancouver. For more information, please contact <u>Greq.Valou@metrovancouver.org</u> or <u>Kelly.Sinoski@metrovancouver.org</u>

### Metro Vancouver Regional District – Joint Special Meeting

### Metro Vancouver 2019 Appointments to External Agencies

The Board the following persons as the 2019 Metro Vancouver representatives to external agencies:

- Harold Steves, Richmond, to the Agricultural Advisory Committee
- Darrell Penner, Port Coquitlam, to the Board of Trustees of the Sasamat Volunteer Fire Department
- Lois Jackson, Delta, to the Delta Heritage Airpark Management Committee;
- Bill Dingwall, Pitt Meadows, as the nominee to the E-Comm Board of Directors (to take effect at the time of its Annual General Meeting)
- Lois Jackson, Delta, Steven Pettigrew, Surrey, and Petrina Arnason, Township of Langley, to the Flood Control and River Management Committee of the Lower Mainland Local Government Association
- Justin LeBlanc, Electoral Area A, to the Fraser Valley Regional Library Board
- Val van den Broek, Langley City, and Brenda Locke, Surrey (as the Alternate Representative), to the Fraser Basin Council
- David Hocking, Bowen Island, and Christine Boyle, Vancouver, to the Fraser Basin Council Lower Mainland Flood Management Strategy Leadership Committee
- Mike Little, North Vancouver District, to the Lower Mainland Local Government Association
- Malcolm Brodie, Richmond, and Craig Hodge, Coquitlam (as the Alternate Representative), to the National Zero Waste Council
- John McEwen, Anmore, and Ron McLaughlin, Lions Bay, to the Pacific Parklands Foundation
- Darryl Walker, White Rock, and Mike Little, North Vancouver District (as the Alternate Representative), to the Western Transportation Advisory Council

The Board also appointed the following ten directors as representatives, and the following ten directors as alternate representatives, to the Municipal Finance Authority for 2019, and assign a total of 50 votes with a representative having up to five votes each, as follows:

Representative	Alternate Representative	Votes
Malcolm Brodie, Richmond	Bryce Williams, Tsawwassen	5
Jonathan Coté, New Westminster	Ron McLaughlin, Lions Bay	5
Jack Froese, Township of Langley	Darryl Walker, White Rock	5
George Harvie, Delta	Mary-Ann Booth, West Vancouver	5
Mike Hurley, Burnaby	Val van den Broek, Langley Township	5
Doug McCallum, Surrey	Mike Little, North Vancouver District	5
Kennedy Stewart, Vancouver	Bill Dingwall, Pitt Meadows	5
Richard Stewart, Coquitlam	Neil Belenkie, Belcarra	5



## **BOARD IN BRIEF**

4730 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC, Canada V5H 0C6 | 604-432-6200 | metrovancouver.org

# Election of the MVRD Representative on the 2018-2019 Union of British Columbia Municipalities Executive

The Board elected Director Craig Hodge from City of Coquitlam by acclimation to serve as the MVRD representative on the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) Executive Board for 2018-2019.

#### **Notices of Motion**

Two notices of motion were received, paraphrased below.

### **Director Mary-Ann Booth of West Vancouver:**

To review the 2019 - 2023 Financial Plan for the Aboriginal Relations Committee dated September 19, 2018, regarding an increase of \$193,035 for a new staff position of Program Manager.

### **Director Lois Jackson of City of Delta:**

That the Board remove the Regional Prosperity Initiative from the 2019 budget and direct staff to provide a budget that reflects an increase of under 3%.